Use Areas

5.1 Hupačasath Use Areas

The Hupačasath have divided their territory into 29 Hupačasath Use Areas (28 land based areas and 1 marine based area) as identified in section 5.5 for planning purposes. This list and the designations are not meant to imply that one Area is more or less valuable to the Hupačasath. All of the land and resources within their territory are important to sustain the Hupačasath way of life.

Also, the list of cultural and resource values is only an indication of some of the values in the Area. Very few of the Hupačasath cultural values have been identified on maps and more are discovered as studies are completed. Also, wildlife, wildlife habitat, riparian areas and non-timber forest values have not been adequately inventoried and mapped.

5.2 Land and Resource Values

The following values are described for each of the Hupačasath Use Areas:

Cultural Values including:

  • village and other sites
  • burial grounds
  • sacred areas
  • hunting and fishing areas
  • food and medicine gathering areas
  • cedar and other forest use areas, etc

Natural Resource Values including:

  • fish spawn habitat
  • wildlife areas
  • forests
  • minerals
  • water
  • areas of particular biodiversity, etc

Present Use Areas for the territory including:

  • towns
  • roads
  • private and Crown lands
  • forest and other tenures
  • legal land status

5.3 Management Objectives

Based on the values of the Hupačasath, management objectives are described for each Hupačasath Use Area. Management objectives state how Hupačasath wants to manage land and resources within the Hupacasath Use Areas. For example:

  • protect old growth cedar
  • protect important fish habitat
  • protect food gathering or spiritual areas
  • timber harvest to create jobs
  • manage for wildlife, etc.

5.4 Hupačasath Use Area Designations

Each Hupačasath Use Area or part of a Hupačasath Use Area is designated as one of the following:

  • Protected Area
    • Protection from industrial development (such as timber harvesting, mining, large scale tourism, hydro development or urbanization), with sensitive tourism and road development permitted so as to protect fish, wildlife, old growth trees or cultural values
  • Resource Development
    • Resource development, such as timber harvesting, mining, tourism and other development can take place while respecting Hupačasath rights and title, and being sensitive fish, wildlife, culture and other environmental values
  • Special Management
    • Resource development can occur but where there are special cultural or environmental features, they must take precedent over development